ATTILA JOZSEF,1925-With a pure heart

With a pure heart.

Without father without mother

without God or homeland either

without crib or coffin-cover

without kisses or a lover

for the third day – without fussing

I have eaten next to nothing.

My store of power are my years

I sell all my twenty years.

Perhaps, if no else will

the buyer will be the devil.

With a pure heart – that’s a job:

I may kill and I shall rob.

They’ll catch me, hang me high

in blessed earth I shall lie,

and poisonous grass will start

to grow on my beautiful heart.

Lascia un commento

